top of page


The main purpose of this pilot program is to stimulate economic growth in those areas by attracting skilled workers. This program includes communities in Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, British Columbia, Nunavut, the Northwest Territories, and Yukon.

Communities selected for the Rural Immigration Pilot are the following:

Eleven communities have been selected to participate in this pilot. These communities will get the necessary support in order to test the pilot.


  • Thunder Bay

  • Sault-Ste-Marie

  • Sudbury

  • Timmins

  • North Bay


  • Gretna-Rhineland-Altona-Plum Coulee

  • Brandon


  • Moose Jaw



  • Claresholm

British Columbia:

  • West Kootenay

  • Vernon

Program Requirements for Communities

In order to apply, a community must have a population of 50,000 or less and be located at least 75 km from the core of a census metropolitan area, or have a population of 200,000 or less and be considered remote from other larger cities. Communities must be located in one of the following provinces or territories:

  • Alberta

  • British Columbia

  • Manitoba

  • Northwest Territories

  • Nunavut

  • Ontario

  • Saskatchewan

  • Yukon

Communities must submit an economic development plan supported by a local economic development organization that can manage the pilot. Communities also must demonstrate they have employment opportunities available for newcomers, as well as having the ability to support the settlement of newcomers.

Agri-Food Immigration Pilot is launched and the Canadian authorities are now accepting applications.

Objective: Addressing the labor needs of Canadian employers in the:


  • meat processing;

  • mushroom and greenhouse production;

  • livestock-raising industries.

Temporary visa holders currently in Canada working in the above-mentioned fields will be able to apply for permanent residence under this new program.


IRCC is planning to admit up to 2,750 principal applicants plus their family members annually for the next three years under this pilot program.

Applications are being accepted from now until May 14, 2023.


The occupations and industries eligible under the pilot include:

  • Meat product manufacturing;

  • Retail butchers

  • Industrial butchers

  • Farm supervisors and specialized livestock workers

  • Food processing laborers.

  • Greenhouse, nursery, and floriculture production, including mushroom production;

  • Farm supervisors and specialized livestock workers

  • General farm-workers

  • Harvesting laborers.

  • Animal production excluding aquaculture;

  • Farm supervisors and specialized livestock workers;

  • General farm-workers

How to proceed if you require assistance?

1. Email us ( Your issue and any documentation that you consider relevant


2. We review your documents and appoint a consultant/lawyer to contact you with the brief assessment


3. You decide whether to proceed.


All our cases are handled by experienced lawyers and RCIC immigration specialists.


Source & Copyright: The source of the above visa and immigration information and the copyright owner is the: Citizenship and Immigration Canada and Immigration Quebec

Disclaimer: The content of this page is provided as an information guide only. The use of this website is at the viewer/user's risk. While every effort is made in presenting up-to-date and accurate information, no responsibility or liability is accepted by the owners of this website for any errors, omissions, outdated or misleading information on these pages or any site to which these pages connect or are linked.​​

bottom of page